There are myriad issues that confront associations with employees including wage/hour issues, discrimination pitfalls, workers' compensation concerns and more. It is important that associations who also happen to be employers have their policies and procedures reviewed (and better yet drafted) by experts in this area.
Staying abreast of all laws that impact the employer/employee relationship is also important. Towards that end, a Leon County judge has ruled that the State of Florida was improperly calculating the minimum wage for workers in the state. Effective June 1st, the minimum wage will increase from $7.25 to $7.31 per hour. The minimum wage for tipped employees such as restaurant servers will increase from $4.23 to $4.29 per hour.
In 2004, Floridians voted to amend the Florida Constitution to provide that the state’s minimum wage would increase with inflation. The change for 2011 was based on the “percentage change in the federal Consumer Price Index for urban wage earners and clerical workers in the South Region for the 12-month period prior to September 1, 2010”. For more information on the change, please visit the Florida Agency for Workforce Innovation’s minimum wage bulletin at: http://www.floridajobs.org/minimumwage/index.htm.
If you have any questions or comments, please let me know.
As with many Florida communities, my HOA Board had questions in the aftermath of Hurricane Irma. Would FEMA pay to pick up al...
Florida condominiums, cooperatives and, to a lesser degree, homeowners' associations are subject to the imposition of fines and penaltie...
By July 1, 2018, a Florida condominium association with 150 or more units which does not manage timeshare units must have an independent...